Vegas and Spaghetti Squash

Two out of the four items for January completed!

Vegas was an extreme success (as I expected).  I don’t think we could have done it any better.  Sure, everyone enjoys the lights and the parties there, but I felt like it was the perfect place to knock off my “travel someplace new”.  When I was younger and decided that I wanted to go into hospitality, my dream was always to go to Vegas and work in one of their hotels.  I imagined that it would be like Disney World to me.  Well I was right.  Unfortunately my love for working in hotels is slowly fading but I can still appreciate the amazing effort that goes into those places.

We also may have had a private performance from a certain performing group that has their own Vegas show, so I guess that helped a bit too.  Oh and Zedd too.

And what better place to try a new food than at a hungover Bellagio brunch buffet?  I spent some time wandering around the different buffet tables and loaded up on my normal items, sushi, sauteed mushrooms, watermelon, and shrimp.  Then I saw it.  Spaghetti squash.  As a gluten free individual, you may wonder how I have never tried spaghetti squash before.  Well.  I’ve heard it’s nasty and truly believe that no vegetable should look like that naturally.  It wasn’t as adventurous as I wanted my “new food” to be, but it felt right because I felt, “THIS COULD BE THE BEST SUBSTITUTE FOR REGULAR PASTA EVER”.  Nope, I thought it was gross and quickly filled up with tuna tartar after trying it.  I tried it though!

On to my failures….

My goal for doing something nice for someone was always in the back of my mind to get my coworker a birthday present.  In my Vegas hangover stupor Wednesday morning back at work, I realized that it was actually his birthday that day!  So no present for him.  Maybe it would have been weird anyway.  So I’ve now moved on to trying to figure out something I can do for my roommate since he spent four days watching my terror of a kitten.

I’m still working on the listening one though.  I know it’s one of my biggest weaknesses, so it will be my ultimate project for the few days that are left in January.

Leave a Reply

